How to lower you New Jersey Auto Insurance rate and reduce points off your driving record isn’t as difficult as you might think. We  know with Covid-19 times are changing and like a lot of us, you are probably looking for ways to save some extra money. No one wants to over pay for their insurance, so let us help. If you have some extra time (like most of us do), take a break from Netflix and read below to find out how to reduce your monthly payments.

How your Automobile Insurance Rate Is Determined

First lets do a little explanation of how your auto insurance rate is determined. Today the average cost of automobile insurance in New Jersey is around $1346 per year and per vehicle. But  explaining why your auto insurance cost what it does isn’t as simple as you think. Unfortunately, it isn’t just about being a safe driver. There are 11 main factors that go into determining your rate. These 11 factors listed below all have different weights that come together to determine what you pay.

  1. Gender and Age
  2. Marital Status
  3. Where You Live
  4. Credit Score
  5. Profession
  6. Safety Rating
  7. Vehicle Size
  8. Age of the Car
  9. Likelihood of Theft
  10. Driving History
  11. Driving Activity

New Jersey’s Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction ACT or The AICRA

In 1998 the Garden State put the Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction Act or for short the AICRA in to place to control the rising cost of auto insurance.  This legislation required that New Jersey auto insurance rates be reduced by approximately $700 million or an overall 15%. On top of reducing cost this act allowed people to have more choices in coverage options, standard or basic policy, and it allowed you to better control your own cost. You can control your current insurance rate by doing any of the following:

  • Raise your deductibles. To lower your insurance rate, set your deductible higher.
  • Change your PIP benefit options. You can change your auto insurance coverage depending on your health insurance coverage. If your health insurance offers primary coverage for auto accidents injuries you can choose to have them be the primary payer for auto related accidents.
  • Limitation on Lawsuit option. Selecting this option can allow you to save up to 75% on bodily injury and property damage liability coverage.
  • Take a state approved defensive driving course. Those who complete a defensive driving course may receive discounts on their auto insurance by reducing the points on their driving record
  • Buy a safe car and drive safely. The most obvious way to lower cost and also, the safest! Remember to drive safely and always make sure  your car is up to date.

How to take a defensive driving course in New Jersey and reduce your Points

Taking a defensive driving course is easy, even in today’s crazy world. You can take a defensive driving course from the comfort of your own home! Thats right you don’t even need to leave your living room or put pants on. We don’t care what you wear at Comedy Defensive Driving.

There are a couple things to know when deciding on a Defensive Driving course to lower your insurance cost. Make sure your course is approved by the New Jersey MVC and all New Jersey cities and counties. Second, you may only receive a two point reduction once every 5 years and only if there are points on your driving record at the time you complete the course. Finally, check with your insurance agency. All insurance agencies are different, some and the amount of money you can save can change depending on the type or coverage you have and your personal driving record.

How much money can you save by taking an online defensive driving course?

Taking an online defensive driving course keeps your record clean and your insurance premiums low. All insurance agencies are different, some higher some lower but the average savings on auto insurance after taking a defensive driving course is around 10%. Since the average cost of New Jersey auto insurance is around $1,346 a year, that means a ten percent savings over three years would be around $402. Factor in that our course only cost $15 and has a free instant certificate for you to print and that means you save on average $387.

Why choose Comedy Defensive Driving to reduce points and lower your automobile insurance cost in New Jersey

We know, taking an online course about safe driving probably isn’t at the top of your list of things to do. Even though it helps save you money! All online courses are a minimum of 6 hours as required by the state and have a small quiz at the end of each section.This all sounds painful and not at all entertaining but we promise it is not all that bad. Thats why we made sure to make our course as hilarious and educational possible using real comedians, actors and lots of fun animation. We want everyone to laugh, learn and save money all at the same time when they take our course.


Stay safe and save some money on your car insurance. Until next time,

Comedy Defensive Driving