If you reside in the great state of Texas and are required to obtain a certified copy of your driving record, you can get it at the Texas Department of Public Safety website https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm
There, you can either print your 2020 Texas driving record, or choose to have it mailed to you.
If this is required by a Texas judge for a ticket dismissal, he/she will request that you to order the 3A type of driving record. You will see that there are several types to choose from.
Again, make sure that you use the web address the court listed on your paperwork, or use the link above. If you do a web search for where to order your record, there are many scammers that will overcharge you. You should never have to pay more than $12.00 ($10+service fee) for a certified Texas driving record.
WHAT YOU WILL NEED TO PRINT YOUR DRIVING RECORD
Once you are on the website, you can purchase and print out your record with no delay. If you choose to print it, this is what you will need:
- Audit number shown on your Texas driver license (long number, starts with an “AA
- Date of birth
- Last 4 digits of social security number
- Must have Adobe Reader downloaded (download link conveniently available on website)
- The latest version of one of these browsers (Google Chrome, Safari, Explorer, Mozilla)
- Credit Card ($10 plus a $2 processing fee)
- A Printer
IF YOU MAIL THE APPLICATION
You also have the option to print out the application and mail it in. If you don’t have a printer, perhaps the court can supply you with a record application. The website notes that you should allow 3 weeks from receipt before your application is processed and the record is mailed to you. Again, don’t forget that you need to order the 3A type and enclose a check or money order for $10.
ANOTHER GOOD REASON TO GET A DRIVING RECORD
Look at your driving record like a credit report of your driving errors. You will never know what is on it if you never see it. If you’ve ever received a citation and paid an attorney to get your ticket dismissed, you could find that it still ended up on your record. And that would be a good indication as to why your insurance rates increased. So, if you do get tickets, it’s always a good idea to check that there are no moving violations on your record. Because once they’re on your record, they’re impossible to get expunged. Only time will delete a moving violation from a driving record.
Until next month…
Writer / Comedienne / Artist
2020 DRIVING RECORD – Comedy Defensive Driving