A rolling stop refers to the act of not coming to a complete stop while driving, but just slowing down to a slow, “rolling” speed, particularly at a stop sign. This is also referred to as a California rolling stop.
Performing a rolling stop instead of a complete stop is illegal in Texas. Performing a running stop can also get you in trouble with the law if an officer sees you do it.
Not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign may put yourself and others in danger. Failing to stop the movement of your car will give you less time to observe your surroundings before proceeding onto the road in front of you. If you don’t see a car coming from either direction because you failed to give yourself enough time to look, you may end up in an accident.
How Much Will a Ticket from a Rolling Stop Cost?
Rolling stops are classified the same way as running stop signs, so penalties can be quite stiff. Tickets range from around $60 to $350. Many times police officers will hide near stop signs waiting for people to not come to a complete stop.
How Long Must I Stop for at a Stop Sign?
There is no defined length of time you must be stopped at a stop sign for. As long as you come to a complete stop before driving forwards, you have not broken any laws.
Although there is no specified amount of time you must be stopped, the longer you stop, the easier it will be for a nearby police officer to tell that you came to a complete stop.
Remember that when coming to a stop sign, you must not only come to a complete stop, you also must stop behind the line. Be safe and stop your car completely at stop signs and red lights.