The number of points on your Texas driving record has consequences which cost you money. Your insurance rates can increase because you are a higher risk driver, compared to one that has no points. In addition, if you rack up an excessive amount of points in a short period of time, you could have to pay annual surcharges in order to be allowed to hold a Texas driver’s license.
According to the State of Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, each moving violation conviction has a set number of points based upon the type of offense. For every speeding and other non-accident related violations, two points are put on your Texas driving record. In cases where you were involved in an accident, three points are added to your record. Seat belt convictions, and those where you were speeding less than 10 percent over the posted limit, do not result in any points, but you can still be required to pay fines.
Points stay on your driving record for a period of three years in Texas. Should you obtain six or more points in a three year period, you have to pay the state surcharges based on the total number of points. For example, if you have 9 points on your record, you have to pay a surcharge of $100 for the first six points, and $75 for the additional three points every year these remain on your record.
In addition, you may be required by the court to take a defensive driving course, which you must pay for out of your own pocket. There are benefits to completing the course, as it can lower the total number of points on your driving record. The court might also agree to dismiss a traffic violation in exchange for your successful completion of the course. This is helpful, especially if the points for the current offense are going to put six or more points on your driving record.