At Comedy Defense Driving in Texas, we try our best to make sure you drive safe, responsible, and smart. On September 1, 2013, Texas introduced new traffic laws which could result in some hefty fines if not followed correctly. These updated laws help protect Texans on a greater scale, but are also implemented to discourage offenders through tougher penalties.
Texas Department of Public Safety Director Steven McGraw encourages all residents to educate themselves on these new laws and help do their part in keeping Texas safe. Here is a brief overview of what you can expect from Texas traffic safety laws:
Bus Stop Safety – Back to school safety is vital within any community. The Texas Department of Public Safety has made some changes in regards to school buses and zoning. The fine for not stopping while a school bus is stopped has gone from $200 to $500. Violators can expect a maximum penalty of $1,250.
Hang Up the Phone in School Zones – Texas parents will want to be sure that they are not on the phone and driving within any school zone. This also includes driving in parking lots or within the drop-off zones. This was implemented to ensure that drivers are completely aware of and alert to students who may be walking near these areas. The penalty for not adhering to the cell phone ban can land you a $200 fine. Drivers who are completely parked are not held to this law, so it is important to park before you make or receive any phone calls.
Hit and Run – Austin resident Courtney Griffin was killed in a hit and run accident in 2011, prompting Texas law enforcement to take serious measures to prevent and eliminate this disturbing trend in Texas. In fact, the charge for leaving the scene of an accident has increased from a felony of the third degree to a felony of the second degree — the same as intoxicated manslaughter. Punishment for hit and run in Texas now lands offenders with 2-20 years in jail and a fine up to $10,000.
Texas DOT Vehicles – In order to secure the safety of Texas DOT (Department of Transportation) workers, Texas law enforcement has now alerted drivers that DOT vehicles should be given the same consideration as other public service vehicles like police cars, ambulances, and fire trucks. Failure to yield to these vehicles can result in a $200 fine.
Learn more about your local traffic laws by signing up for our Texas defensive driving class today.