In Florida, what is the point system assessed for traffic violations?
- Speeding 15 mph or less over the speed limit: 3 points
- Speeding more than 15 mph over the speed limit: 4 points
- Speeding resulting in a crash: 6 points
- Moving violation: 3 points
- Moving violation resulting in a crash: 4 points
- Failing to stop at a traffic signal: 4 points
- Passing a stopped school bus: 4 points
- Reckless driving: 4 points
- Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50: 6 points
- Improper lane change: 3 points
- Violation of a traffic control sign/device: 4 points
- Having an open container as an operator: 3 points
- Child restraint violation: 3 points
- Littering: 3 points
How can your license get suspended because of points?
- 12 points in 12 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days;
- 18 points within 18 months results in a 3-month suspension;
- 24 points within 36 months results in a 12-month suspension.
If a Florida driver receives a ticket in another state, points will be assessed using the Florida point system. For more information regarding the points assessed for other offenses, please see this website: https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/driver-license-suspensions-revocations/points-point-suspensions/
|You will still have to pay the civil fine when you attend a driver improvement course. However, when you take a driver improvement course, the civil fine may be reduced by up to 18 percent as required by law. This reduction is from the amount indicated by the ticketing officer on the traffic citation. To find out exactly how much your fine will be because of taking a driver improvement course, you may contact the Traffic Division of the Clerk of the Courts in the county where you received the citation.