Florida law states when approaching school buses with alternating flashing red lights or when displaying a stop signal, you must stop.
If you are on the opposite side of a two way road, you must stop. You may not resume motion until the bus has turned off its signal and or it has resumed motion. Passing school buses could get you a 4-point infraction.
Florida law also states that any vehicle that passes a school bus on the side that children enter and exit when the school bus displays a stop signal commits a moving violation. You can’t pass school buses with passing red lights. Theres only three exceptions and and those exceptions are:
• When you are on the opposite side of a street separated by a median that is raised.
• When there is a physical barrier.
• When there is a separation between the two opposite roadways of at least 5- feet wide. s.316.1722, F.S
If you get caught passing school buses while driving on a sidewalk expect the fine to start at 200 dollars when you visit the judge. If you get caught twice in five years, enjoy the six months to one year license suspension. Passing a school bus is a 4-point infraction. You will have to appear in front of his or her Magistrate and the fine starts at a minimum of $100.00.
If you get caught twice within 5 years, you can expect at license suspension of 3 to 6 months to go along with it.
• From Floridan School bus Stop Law http://www.floridaschoolbussafety.gov/Law.htm
• Amount of penalties (Section 318.18, FS):
• Left hand pass:
– 1st offense: $165
– 2nd or subsequent offense (within 5 years): $165 plus license suspension for 90 days to 6 months
• Right hand pass:
– 1st offense: $265
– 2nd or subsequent offense (within 5 years): $265, license suspension for 180 days to one year, plus a mandatory hearing
School zones. School zones are usually marked with flashing yellow lights. The point is reduce your speed to the speed limit that’s indicated on the sign. Be alert because sometimes the sign does not have a flashing yellow light, just signs alerting you of the posted times that the speed limits are in effect. Most school zones in Florida cities are between 15 and 20 mph. There is no passing allowed in school zones. If the car next to you is doing 10 you are not allowed to pass. This is for the safety of your children. A kid could be running out in front of that 10 mph car and you will never see them coming around the slower car until it is too late.
All material in this video is the Copyright of Comedy Defensive Driving School® and is the Federally Registered Trademark of IDT, Inc. All rights reserved 1989-2018 **This course fulfills the requirements of the Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDI) the Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC) and Insurance reduction. This course can also be taken voluntarily to brush up on your driving skills.**